Looking at windows with Mummy started my lifelong love affair with fabulousness

Once upon a time…

When I was a little girl (a while ago now) I loved looking at window displays with my Mummy. (I always called my mother ‘Mummy’, even as an adult). Mummy and I would look at the windows of the one-off shops in London like Harvey Nichols, Selfridges, Liberty’s and Harrods.

Memory merge

My memories tend to hazily merge but I know that we must have done this after I was ten because these are London memories and we moved from Glasgow (where I was born) to London when I was about 9 or 10. These were not incidental visits alongside other shopping, rather we would make specific trips to the West End just to look at windows.

We even went on Sundays, before the days of Sunday trading.

I remember once we went into Harrods and bought a tub of ice cream from the food hall, just so we could have a Harrods bag (because there was no way we could afford to shop there, but we needed a souvenir). I also remember that once the day ended with me eating a really large Knickerbocker glory from Wimpey‘s.

We would “ooh” and “aah” at the design and ingenuity of the window displays and discuss them afterwards. I am pretty sure that those days had a major impact on my decision to study theatre design at university.

I still love window displays and though I can no longer share this with my Mummy,  I thought I would share some of the current displays with you in this post.

My photos

Now I have to confess I’m a very amateur photographer so I’m not sure how to take the  best photos through windows, but in some cases I think the reflections add a certain something. No?

I need to work on taking photographs through glass 🙂

All the photos in this post are from Harrods and Harvey Nichols  Christmas windows in Knightsbridge.

[please click on any small photo below for the full slide show]

Thanks for visiting

toodle pip for now

SLG

xoxo

I would love to know what you think